Home Cigar 101

Is This Right?

I'm new to cigars  and new to smoking.

The other day I walked into a smoke shop for the first time just to have a look around. I walked into the humidor, walked up to the shelves of cigars and noticed that all the cigars were wrapped in plastic wrap, like the plastic wrap that Twinkies come in. Is this right? This doesn't sound right to me..What do you think? Thanks for the 

Answers

• Gray4linesGray4lines Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Yup! Cellophane. It breathes more than plastic and is common. Helps protect the cigar wrapper (leaf). 

Unlike Twinkies, they still need humidity control, even in cello.
    LLA - Lancero Lovers of America
  • How am I supposed to buy them this way? If I can't smell them, or get a good feel?
  • TX98Z28TX98Z28 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭✭✭
    How am I supposed to buy them this way? If I can't smell them, or get a good feel?
    You can smell the foot, just carefully open it, smell, put back in cello. Most B&Ms are fine with that especially if your buying. Now I wouldn’t fully take the cigar out and hold it...but that’s up to you.
    If you quote me do the @TX98Z28 in your text or I won't be notified of your quote, Thanks.
  • peter4jcpeter4jc Posts: 15,322 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Did you say how can I get a good feel?  :)
    "I could've had a Mi Querida!"   Nick Bardis
  • I didn't know I could take it out of the cello. Hopefully the shop I'm buying them from approves of this. I might be taking a couple of handfuls out of the cellos. 
  • TX98Z28TX98Z28 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I didn't know I could take it out of the cello. Hopefully the shop I'm buying them from approves of this. I might be taking a couple of handfuls out of the cellos. 
    Taking a couple handfulls out😳
    Ya I’d talk to the owner before doing that LOL
    If you quote me do the @TX98Z28 in your text or I won't be notified of your quote, Thanks.
  • firehouseguyfirehouseguy Posts: 996 ✭✭✭✭✭