Home Cigar 101

Shop Etiquette

VikingjimmyVikingjimmy Posts: 14 ✭✭
I am relatively new to cigars, but I seem to have bad luck. It seems natural for me to perform a roll test when I get a cigar. First off, what is the general opinion on roll test? I typically only buy higher end cigars.(All $10+ per stick)... Today, I bought 4 cigars for a total of $60... when I got home, I did the roll test on them, and one of them made a bunch of cracking sounds and the wrapper started splitting in places... the store I use is one of the best in Houston and I hate to question its quality, but I feel a cigar should not crack like that. Recently, I bought a Alec Bradley sampler pack from him. 3 of the 4 sticks in the pack cracked and seemed low quality... I know it’s not my humidor, because the AB stayed in the humidified pack they came in.... so my questions are this...

is the roll test accurate and widely used?
If I get a stick that cracks, should I take it back to the shop I bought it from?

I saw a video on YouTube that said you should never perform a rolltest at the shop, because you “should trust your shop”... this seems asinine to me. A product is a product. But it leads me to believe that maybe cigars shops and smokers do stuff differently. I really like the shop and the owner, so I don’t want to insult them, but I also don’t want sticks that crack in my hands. Is it a shop issue, or a maker issue?

Comments

• 0patience0patience Posts: 10,665 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2018
    Well stop freaking doing that!
    And why do you assume that the shop is taking proper care of them?
    Put them in your humidor for a bit and let them get to the proper humidity.

I never assume that the shop takes care of them properly and I never trust anyone.
    In the humi they go for a rest and I smoke something that I have on hand.

How hard are you rolling the cigar that you are splitting them?
    What are you trying to determine by the roll test?