Home General Discussion

I am Jon and new and ****

Hey fellas, 

I am pretty new to cigars.  I like the Gurkha Beast and I have a badass dog.  Also I make mead, but not very well!

Comments

• dirtdudedirtdude Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome to the forum JonT
    A little dirt never hurt
  • JonTbeastJonTbeast Posts: 10
    Thanks bud!  
  • BKDogBKDog Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I haven't made mead in a few years, welcome aboard, Jon :)
    "Love is a dung heap, Betty and I am but a c.o.c.k. that climbs upon it to crow."
  • Willy_MNWilly_MN Posts: 409 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome to the forum @JonTbeast 😎
    Keep your gratitude higher than your expectations.
    #f**kyourhashtags
    Thanks guys!  And I used to make mead often, but stopped for a few years.  Now I think I suck worse than I did as a noob.

i am hoping to make some decent batches to match with some cigars.  For now I stick with bourbon for a smoke.
    JonTbeast said:
    i am hoping to make some decent batches to match with some cigars.  For now I stick with bourbon for a smoke.
    I've never tried mead with a cigar, but I imagine it would be good. I mainly drink iced tea or a Capri Sun with a cigar, of course coffee and tea, too. My issue was using the right yeast for mead, and as I recall the kind used with champagne worked best for me. I made some terrible mead before. I really should hit up the Amish outlet locally and get some more honey and start some now that you have me thinking about it. 
    "Love is a dung heap, Betty and I am but a c.o.c.k. that climbs upon it to crow."
  • CigarsonistCigarsonist Posts: 267 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome Jon. New here myself. Beekeeper and home brewer as well. Glad to have you
    I actually have made wine with Capri sun!  

And i I believe I use Lavin EC-118 yeast.  Also I have read that you need to stir it daily for the first week to help it get enough oxygen.

lucky on being close to an Amish store!  I bet they have fantastic honey!!!
    JonTbeast said: