Home General Discussion

Want to try a lounge - foolishly intimidated

BadSneakersBadSneakers Posts: 156 ✭✭✭✭
edited December 2019 in General Discussion
So I'm a relative newb to the leaf but I'm enjoying things so far. I keep thinking how nice it would be to have a cozy, friendly place to go to slowly enjoy my smoke, and perhaps bullshit with some friendly regulars. Especially in the winter. So part of me really wants to try a cigar lounge. There's a well rated, friendly sounding one near me but I am too scared to go in as a lounge customer.

I've read tons of articles on lounge/B&M etiquette and it all makes sense to me. So I think I'd be able to avoid stepping on toes. I'm a chick but I have always gotten along great with guys - so that shouldn't be the issue. I dunno, I'm just chickenshit. It's probably a combo of going into something like this alone, worrying about looking like an idiot, worrying that the regulars will glare at me cause I'm new. Please tell me I'm just being foolish. Thanks!
It's funny that pirates were always going around searching for treasure, and they never realized that the real treasure was the fond memories they were creating. - Jack Handey 

Comments

• StubbleStubble Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2019
    Jeeze, if I felt half as confident as you, I could rule the world!  Just do it girl, I bet you a dollar to a donut hole they would welcome and help you with any questions or issues.  

PS:  What part of the world you from?  Just might be a BOTL or SOTL close to you.....
    Hey, you gonna eat the rest of that corndog?
  • YaksterYakster Posts: 25,529 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2019
    Don't worry, the people working the lounge may know less than you about cigars. (and especially the difference between mold and plume)

I enjoy lounges with an easy-going vibe, not feeling welcome by pretentious lounges. Luckily they're not hard to find here.

I think @VegasFrank is our resident lounge lizard, maybe he'll chime in.