Home Cigar 101

Noob getting into cigars

As the subject says, I am a total noob when it comes to cigars. I had a CAO Black torpedo and a couple others, but now I want to branch out and try multiple types. The plan is to pick up the Scorched Earth II Sampler from this site and a 100-count humidor; however, I have no clue as to what to do after that point. Can someone point me in the direction of good instructions on preparing the humidor, keeping the cigars "healthy", etc.? I'm worried about stumbling across instructions that are inaccurate and ruining a batch of cigars.

Your help is much appreciated,
Mark

PS. I apologize if this is a frequently asked question, but I am literally clueless in this area and look forward to becoming much more informed. Thanks again!

Comments

• Stryker808Stryker808 Posts: 269
    Welcome. There are no bad questions. I think the humidor question can be answered with a quick look in the Cigar 101 section try a search for humidor seasoning as a start. Most of the threads and information on this site is top notch and won't lead you down the wrong path. Definatly give one of the guys at Cigar.com a call and Im sure they will hook you up with what you need. The scorched Earth sampler, to me would be a great start, although a leap of faith, a good one! There is a lot of 5 packs in there, you may want to look for some samplers with 1's and 2's to get a bead on what you like first. Have fun and enjoy!
  • TatuajeVITatuajeVI Posts: 2,378
    Good idea with a large sampler and a good sized humidor. For your humidor, most guys will recommend picking up some "humidity beads" and a digital hygrometer. In my humble opinion, these are almost as necessary as a humidor. Analog hygrometers are nothing but trouble, and foam or gel just sucks for controlling humidity. Heartfelt Industries are a great brand for beads, but after hearing a bunch of guys recommend these here: Link I purchased a pound of them and love them.