Home Cigar 101

New Guy here

zeebrazeebra Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭

Hey fellas, hope you guys are having a great day.  I'm new to cigars and have been reading through the forums for ideas and tips and what type of cigars to purchase.

Well, for starters, my wifes cousin send me some cigars that were locally made in New Orleans in the French Quarters.  She send me a box, with lighter and cutter.

Here are the cigars she send me and I'm curious if you guys would have any info as to taste and quality of these cigars.

On the box it says, 100% Cuban Seed, 100% long leaf

1. Plantation Reserve-Churchill

2.Plantation Reserve-Torpedo

3.Plantation Reserve-Lonsdale

4.Plantation Reserve-Panatela

5.Plantation Reserve-Corona

6.Plantation Reserve-Robusto

7.Tres Hermanos-Numero Tres

8.Tres Hermanos-Numero Dos

9.Vieux Carre-Cafe

10.Tres Hermanos-Numero Uno

Then she send 2 sticks each of Cognac, Rum, and Vanilla

I dont know if anyone can help since they were made in New Orleans and I guess they have their own blends.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• laker1963laker1963 Posts: 5,046
    Sorry Zebra, never heard of any of those sticks. However...WELCOME to the forums. Somebody will have heard of those likely, so you should get some information sooner or later.

• zeebrazeebra Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭

Well thats not good news.  I actually wanted to start with a good smoke and try something I can have feed back on.  I guess I'll just have to smoke them and see.

So when it says 100% cuban seeds, does not mean its a cuban cigar right?  Because all seeds are cubans?

Thanks for the welcome Laker!

I see this while surfing on the site..

Gurkha His Majesty’s Reserve (HMR), $750 for one stick!  Anyone ever had this before?? Wow!

• xmacroxmacro Posts: 3,402
    Gurkha HMR is currently the most expensive cigar you can buy (most expensive ever produced was the original Gurkha Black Dragon - $110,000 per box).