Home Cigar 101

Herf-a-Dor for permanent storage.

LNKFixedLNKFixed Posts: 3

So I'm kind of new to the cigar world and don't smoke very often. So, possibly foolishly, I decided that a Herf-a-Dor X10 would probably be just about perfect without considering the possibility that it may not be the best option for permanent storage. I got the thing for $12 so if it's not gonna work it's not gonna work, but is it possible to use a Herf-a-Dor for long-term storage? I do have a Boveda one year bag so very little loss here if it's not gonna work out the way I expected.

Comments

• Gray4linesGray4lines Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭✭✭

Probably will keep them smokeable. If you have a boveada in there and it seals, then no issue.

Honestly not that different than a tuppidor (buy a plastic bin, put boveda in, add cigars, repeat). I wouldnt worry. If you want to do some serious aging, then upgrade to something larger. If you just want properly humidified cigars in 2 months, I say your A OK.

LLA - Lancero Lovers of America
  • IndustMechIndustMech Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭✭✭

Yes, but don't use the built it humidification, use a small (8 gram) bovida.
    I'd guess you'll either stop smoking cigars or get something bigger. A plastic storage box with clamps to hold the lid on and a gasket in the lid.

I know, You're a big dog and I'm on the list.
    Let's eat, GrandMa.  /  Let's eat GrandMa.  --  Punctuation saves lives

It'll be fine once the swelling goes down.

• LNKFixedLNKFixed Posts: 3

@IndustMech said:
    I'd guess you'll either stop smoking cigars or get something bigger. A plastic storage box with clamps to hold the lid on and a gasket in the lid.

That's kind of what I'm thinking too, but for now I'm just not keeping that many around. Especially because I don't wanna be smoking in front of my ex-smoker dad. Is there actually a difference between the boveda packs designed for cigars and the ones designed for herbs?

By herbs do you mean weed?

As long as its a 65% or 69% rh.