Home Cigar 101

How do I check the seal on my humidor

I made an impulse buy of a humidor at my local smoke shop. I do not think it is the best construction of a humidor. Bought it before I started reading all the great info on this forum. I have been reading on other threads about the dollar bill test. Can someone explain to me how to perform this test? I definitely do not hear a "whoosh" when I close the lid.

Comments

• I am somewhat new to cigars and dont know about the dollar bill test. I do know that you can put a flashlight inside and close the lid and turn out the lights and check the seal that way. Don't know how accuarate it is but I have read that it works. Good luck and let me know how the dollar bill thing works.
  • rmccloudrmccloud Posts: 160 ✭✭
    The dollar bill test is where you place a dollar, half in and half out of the humidor and close the lid. Try to pull the bill out of the humidor. It should be very difficult if not impossible to pull out (without ripping the bill of course). You want to try this on the different sides of the humidor.
  • kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
  • j0z3rj0z3r Posts: 9,403 ✭✭
    Also the drop test. Open your humidor so that there is roughly 2-3 inches of open space between the lid and the body on the front....then drop the lid. If the lid closes with a whoosh, as though the drop were cushioned, then chances are you have a pretty decent seal. If the lid slams down, take the humidor back to wherever you got it from and demand a replacement.
  • cphk96cphk96 Posts: 14
    rmccloud:
    The dollar bill test is where you place a dollar, half in and half out of the humidor and close the lid. Try to pull the bill out of the humidor. It should be very difficult if not impossible to pull out (without ripping the bill of course). You want to try this on the different sides of the humidor.