Home Cigar 101

Do I need a certain number of cigars in my humidor?

TexasToastTexasToast Posts: 37 ✭✭

Hey all, new to the forum and excited to be here. I had some questions that hopefully you guys have some insight on. I’m fairly new to cigars but already have plenty of favorites and know I can easily fill a 25-50 humidor. That being said the humidor I wanted is no longer in stock so thinking about buying a 100 count. I would be using boveda packs for everything and just wanted to know, if say I start out with 15-20 cigars will that be too little for the humidor to handle with boveda. Sorry for the long message and hope to hear from you guys (:

Comments

• TheKrakenTheKraken Posts: 2,240 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2020

Typically, you would need more boveda packs to keep the RH stable if your humidor is less than half full. I use about 1 boveda for every 15-20 cigars in my wooden desktop humidor that is a 100 ct and I keep constantly ~75% full. Not sure how many I have in my cooler, got to be at least 8. You should be able to use less per cigar in a plastic tupperdoor or cooler because there is less leakage. Hope this helps

@TexasToast welcome to the forum! Why don't you hop on over to the Newbie welcoming thread and introduce yourself. There's alot of people with some great knowledge on here, so ask away

• d_bladesd_blades Posts: 3,701 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2020

@ShawnOL said:
    You will either always run out or end up with way more than your wife thinks you need. You can keep a low number in a 100 if you have enough boveda. If you get too many, send them to me.

Which is why my cigars are stored off-site and I only expose 4 or 5 at a time. On the original question I think the standard answer is around 50% full and you'll be alright.
    A bold dry beg of a newbie by the way.

Don't let the wife know what you spend on guns, ammo or cigars.

• Bob_LukenBob_Luken Posts: 10,004 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2020