Home Cigar 101

education 101

ScionScion Posts: 20
so im just fresh into smoking cigars.

heres my story: my friend got me a few cigars for my birthday in February and Ive been hooked ever since then. everyone says to just buy some a try them which i do although here is the catch. im a junior year college student and dont have the luxury of buying expensive smokes all the time. atm i buy all my cigars at a awesome cigar lounge thats a mile from my house.
a few cigars i like are in order are:
nat shermans
don peppins
tatuaje
la riqueza
por larranaga

im smoking mainly robusto sizes atm

so i guess what im wondering is
a) how do you choose the cigar your going to try?
b) if you smoke any of my favorites what else do you like?
c)how do you suggest that i go about exploring my palette while living on a small budget?

thanks for reading...

Comments

• j0z3rj0z3r Posts: 9,403 ✭✭
    I choose what I try by reading descriptions and reviews of the cigar. If it sounds like something I'd like, I try a single.

You can still smoke good cigars on a small budget. Cigar.com has a line of cigars called Primeros that are $1 a stick and I haven't heard anything bad about them. Also, the Cigar.com house labels are a good and cost effective cigar.
  • Matt MarvelMatt Marvel Posts: 930
    I would also suggest looking into some samplers that Cigar.com offers. That will help you try different brands. I can totally understand where you're coming from, because I too, am a student on a limited budget. That being said, I still find good smokes on the cheap. When I'm looking for a cigar, I do as j0z3r said, and pick it up if I've read a good review. Also, ask the guys at your local shop, they might be able to lead you in a good direction. And these forums are loaded with information, and there's a lot of guys here who are very knowledgeable. They've helped me immensely.
  • DiasFlakDiasFlak Posts: 342 ✭✭
    yeah try the 5 for 5 sampler or the 3 for 5 sampler cheap and good samplers