Home General Discussion

Is this Cohiba Robusto Real or fake?

Please see picture

Comments

• Reevesii2345Reevesii2345 Posts: 2

• silvermousesilvermouse Posts: 19,044 ✭✭✭✭✭

I am no expert but it looks real to me. Please head over to this page and introduce yourself:
    http://forum.cigar.com/discussion/3027/the-newbie-welcoming-thread#latest

• Rdp77Rdp77 Posts: 6,057 ✭✭✭✭✭

Band looks ok. Wrapper not so much….but I’ve never dealt with illegal cigars. I’m pretty sure no one else here has either.

• VegasFrankVegasFrank Posts: 16,587 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited March 2022

They got the hard to fake parts of the band right, but you didn't post a pic of the cap. Best way to tell 8s to cut it open and see if it's all long fill 😉

Don't look ↑
  • CommanderDuke1_CommanderDuke1_ Posts: 2,042 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited March 2022

Might be a fake here is an official band

The Indian head especially on the pony tail looks off, the inner Indian head is a bit big and the wrapper looks sketchy as well like @Rdp77 said the font on the lettering as well looks off also included a photo of one of mine as well for comparison

• YaksterYakster Posts: 25,527 ✭✭✭✭✭

I always check the white squares and they look pretty close to the edge there. Like too close. The head should be a hologram, IIRC, but holograms have become easier to produce now so that shouldn't be your only criteria.

I'll gladly bomb you Tuesday for an Opus today. 

Join us on the New Zoom vHerf (Meeting # 2619860114 Password vHerf2020 )
  • silvermousesilvermouse Posts: 19,044 ✭✭✭✭✭

and the 'Habana Cuba' typography is blotchy rather than sharp and thin-lined. Learn something new every day.

• Rdp77Rdp77 Posts: 6,057 ✭✭✭✭✭

Here is the other give away…

• Bob_LukenBob_Luken Posts: 10,004 ✭✭✭✭✭

Is that sand? I'm no expert on fakes or photography, but does it look like this guy is still standing on the beach they warned us about?

• EgoBoundaryEgoBoundary Posts: 2,159 ✭✭✭✭✭