Home Ratings & Reviews

CAO La Traviata

AdcuriumAdcurium Posts: 179 ✭✭
I'm not sure how competent I am to make this review since I'm rather new to the hobby but, since I couldn't find too much about this stick online, I thought I would give it a shot: I picked up the La Traviata at my local B&M on the shop keeper's suggestion. It was dark in color but he assured me that it wasn't as strong as one would think. It sat in my humidor for about two weeks or so and I decided to smoke it last night. I used a single blade cutter (I'm ashamed to say, one of those free, plastic advertisement jobers I got for free somewhere along the way) and I noticed the cigar was rolled very 'tight'. In fact, it was the tightest roll I've encountered so far. I roasted the foot for a few seconds and was able to get a good light. The draw was very tight (but not quite difficult, per se) so I thought it must have been my cut. But, it wasn't. My cut was rather generous and I attributed the tight draw to the actual roll of the cigar (I have no idea if this is true or not but, that was the best conclusion I was able to reach with my limited experience). The burn was very slow and even and, if I had more time, I probably could have enjoyed this cigar for well over two hours. The taste varried and changed over the course of my smoke but always provided real taste and body without being too overwhelming for this newbie. It tasted pleasant the whole while and I seemed to get hints of leather from time to time. The taste didn't match the smell (which was also pleasant) and made the smoke more complex than I expected. I was at first reluctant to call the taste 'leather' b/c I was afraid the color and look of the cigar was influencing my taste perception but by the end I was convinced that 'leather' was a good description. Throughout the smoke I also recognized an earth taste and scent here and there which was never soo overpowering as to render the experience, in any way, unleasant. My bottom line is