Home General Discussion

Acrylic Humidors

Need to draw on your experience again guys... Im looking at buying another humidor. I saw an acrylic humidor that I like (link is below) but Im a little leery about it. The lack of ANY cedar for one thing - can these things regulate and maintain a stable RH? And since its see-thru, would it be more susceptible to ambient temperature? I think this is a really cool way to display the collection, but not if its going to ruin them!

Picture is HERE

Does anyone on the boards have an acrylic humidor (or know anyone who has tried one), and if so what can you tell me about them?

Thanks for the help fellas!

Comments

• mrpillowmrpillow Posts: 464
    These things are more designed for retail establishments than personal use... That said, I have no experience with them.
  • xmacroxmacro Posts: 3,402
    If you have enough beads in one of these acrylics, I can't really think of any reason it wouldn't work - the main reason for spanish cedar is that it acts as a humidification system once it's seasoned, but if you can compensate for the lack of it with beads/other humidification, there shouldn't be a problem with using something like this. No experience myself, but my local liquor store has one of these and it seems to work alright
  • stephen_hannibalstephen_hannibal Posts: 4,317
    Hmmm looks cool.

• Garen BGaren B Posts: 977
    My only reservation would be that sunlight might damage the sticks. But if you stick it in a basement or closet, it shouldn't be a problem. And you wouldn't have to rummage around your sticks to see what you have, that's a big plus.
  • ljlljl Posts: 819