Home General Discussion

Xikar Cutters

zeebrazeebra Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭
So I hear these are the best money can buy. I was still working with a generic one from a local cigar shop and noticed it not cutting sharp anymore, so I wanted to get a nice cutter, only one question..
Whats the difference between the Xi1, Xi2, and Xi3? Is it just he design/color/material of the cutter or the blade? Cause I saw some for like $35 and some for $300 (the cuban design ones).

Comments

• Jetmech_63Jetmech_63 Posts: 3,451 ✭✭✭
    I think(someone will back me up here) all the blades are the same, just the outside is diffrent. I've been sing and Xi2 for 2 years no....love it. It's the last cutter youll ever buy
  • cholmes8310cholmes8310 Posts: 1,585
    Jetmech_63:
    I think(someone will back me up here) all the blades are the same, just the outside is diffrent. I've been sing and Xi2 for 2 years no....love it. It's the last cutter youll ever buy
    Xi and Xi3 are metal handled cutters, while the Xi2 is fiberglass handles. All have the same blades, warranty, and action though. That's why the Xi2 is about 15-20$ cheaper I believe? I have the Xi2 and love it. Plus, if it ever goes dull or breaks, they'll replace it or repair it for free.

If you're looking for a cheaper option still, check out the Xikar Mean Sardine. Double guillotine, same blades and warranty as the Xi's.
  • sightunseensightunseen Posts: 2,130 ✭✭
    Vinnie is right about the blades being the same. The difference is the material used for the handle. The higher priced ones use stainless steel with a titanium coating while the lower end ones have a fiberglass handle. I have the lower end one and it's been an awesome cutter so far. Plus you can't beat the lifetime warranty and I've heard great things about their customer service.
  • zeebrazeebra Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭