Home Cigar 101

Homemade Humidor

Hey guys, this feels like potentially stupid question - but would a cookie tin lined with cigar box cedar be ok for use as a humidor? Are there any problems with the metal fouling the cigars as anyone knows? Thanks!

Comments

• GadwinDuilGadwinDuil Posts: 474
    I'm no expert, in fact I'm no veteran or even an amateur... But I would ASSUME that metal wouldn't be a good idea because the seams where the corners come together probably isn't as perfect as it could be, and making that tin humidified could cause the corners to rust...

I wouldn't want my cigars smelling/tasting like rust... but that's probably something that is easy to catch and avoid happening. For a temp humidor I would totally say it's worth trying, and I'd try it myself. But as a permanent thing I would be concerned.

If I were you, I'd skip the hassle, and find a friend with an igloo cooler that he'll sell you for a couple bucks, and convert that into your humi ;-)
  • MrMokeMrMoke Posts: 321 ✭✭