Home Non Cigar Related

bought a welder!!!

jihiggsjihiggs Posts: 469 ✭✭
its a miller 140 MIG. 669 for the welder, 150 in leathers and an auto dark helmet, and 180 for a bottle of argon/co2. now that im all ready to start welding, guess I better learn how to weld lol. any of you gents out there weld care to give a little advice?

Comments

• cabinetmakercabinetmaker Posts: 2,560 ✭✭
    I was a welder for years before I got into woodworking. You'll only ever need the leathers if you run an innershield setup, lots of heat there. When I ran a MIG, I only ever wore a leather glove on my left hand and a regular gardening glove on my right hand.

Small circles, vertical runs downhill. Watch the puddle, it'll tell you if you are going too fast or slow. Buy a good grinder
  • GoldyGoldy Posts: 1,638 ✭✭
    So many times I have almost bought a welder. One of these days I will...
  • fla-gypsyfla-gypsy Posts: 3,023 ✭✭
    Can you light sticks with it? LOL
  • cabinetmakercabinetmaker Posts: 2,560 ✭✭
    fla-gypsy:
    Can you light sticks with it? LOL
    Yes, but you would not like the taste...
  • Amos_UmwhatAmos_Umwhat Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭✭✭
    cabinetmaker:
    I was a welder for years before I got into woodworking. You'll only ever need the leathers if you run an innershield setup, lots of heat there. When I ran a MIG, I only ever wore a leather glove on my left hand and a regular gardening glove on my right hand.

Small circles, vertical runs downhill. Watch the puddle, it'll tell you if you are going too fast or slow. Buy a good grinder