Home Cigar 101

Humidity issues

I'm relatively new to the cigar world, having first started in on the adventure about a year ago.  Since then I've accumulated a small fortune worth of cigars, which I house in my 300 count humidor.  The problem is that I purchased two Humi-care rectangular humidifiers to replace the poorly constructed foam-based ones the humidor came with, and can't seem to get the humidity under 77%, even using 50/50 PG solution.  I keep the temperature constant between 68-70 degrees, and the humidity in the rest of the room is 45-50%.  Using the same hygrometer (calibrated), the Humi-care jar in my small 20 count humidor holds a constant 69-70%.  I'd really like to avoid any problems with mold/beetles/etc., and any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    convert to beads from heatfelt industries. they are designed to soak up humidity above a level and let it off below a level. i got 65% beads. they work great.
  • ironhorseironhorse Posts: 469
    2 of those humi cares in a 300ct might be a little overkill and I am surprised that the humicare jar isn't too much for the 20ct. I would take one of them out and see what the humidity does. That and do what kuzi says and get some beads instead. But for now, see how just one of the humicares does.
  • aron325aron325 Posts: 158
    ironhorse:
    2 of those humi cares in a 300ct might be a little overkill and I am surprised that the humicare jar isn't too much for the 20ct. I would take one of them out and see what the humidity does. That and do what kuzi says and get some beads instead. But for now, see how just one of the humicares does.
    +1
  • MrMokeMrMoke Posts: 321 ✭✭
    I'm with ironhorse, try just 1 of those rectangular humidifiers.