Home Cigar 101

Humidor

I am a newbie.  Just started smoking about 6 months ago.  I don't have a humidor, and don't know much more than just trying out what I like.  In the beginning, is a jar okay to hold, and what do you do to keep them.

Comments

• Smoke=FireSmoke=Fire Posts: 692 ✭✭✭
    First things first. :D Welcome to the boards. Since you are starting out, a couple of things. Humidification is important to the storage and smokability of fine cigars. Are you just buying 5 at a time and smoking them rapidly? Then a sealable jar with some type of humidifier will work; a moist paper towel inside a baggie for example, so the water does not come in contact with the cigars.

As your interest (or addiction :P ) progresses and your palate starts to become educated, you will find yourself buying more and storing them. At this point you can probably step up to what is referred to as a "tupperdore"; a tupperware container capable of holding more cigars, as well as storing them horizontally which is preferred vs standing them on end like a jar requires. You will also need to find a better humidification device, as well as a way to acurately measure the humidity. Digital is the way to go there.

Eventually you will take the plunge and buy a humidor; and listen well...take how big of a humidor you think you will need, multiply that number by two, and add 25. Trust me ;)
  • rdnstnrdnstn Posts: 993 ✭✭
    Smoke=Fire:
    Eventually you will take the plunge and buy a humidor; and listen well...take how big of a humidor you think you will need, multiply that number by two, and add 25. Trust me ;)
    I thought it was multiply times 25 and add two.
    rdnstn:
    Smoke=Fire:
    I thought it was multiply times 25 and add two.

I think you might be right, especially given the state of my humidor, secondary humidor, and tupperdore o.O
  • MarkbbMarkbb Posts: 196