Home Cigar 101

New to Cigars and Need help!

I have just recently begun enjoying cigars and so far I am very pleased. It seems that when I go to my local B&M I am overwhelmed with the vast selection and never know what would be a good starter. I have been smoking Punch and Cohibas and love them but would like to expand my choices. I have a few questions:
1) What are some good full bodied cigars for someone new?
2) Whats the best moderately priced humidor? What brand if any would be best?
3) Travel humidors, are they worth buying or should I just get a normal one and carry it with me? (I drive a truck and want to take them with me)
I have alot more questions but these should get me going. Thanks!

Comments

• Unfortunately I have no insight to the first 2 questions as I am fairly new to cigars myself, so I'll let the more experienced chime in on those. As for question 3, if you drive tractor/trailer I would suggest a small normal humidor especially if you have a sleeper unit. If you get a hotel take your box in with you, to do the best you can at keeping the temp from fluctuating.
  • HaysHays Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭
    Alrighty buddies... welcome to the forums, to the both of ya! Starting with your questions:

1) "Full-bodied" and "new" are not words that typically go together, as there's plenty of full sticks that can whoop your butt and make you never want to smoke again (even once you have a developed palate)d. If you insist, however, sticks like the Man O War Virtue I found to be pretty full, but flavorful, and it's exceedingly popular around here. As far as sticks in your b&m go, Rocky Patel Edge is a VERY popular fuller stick in my b&m, and there's a couple wrapper varieties available to mix that up.