Home Cigar 101

Cutting problems

Hi guys, just a quick question from your infinite resources of knowledge. I'm a total cigar noob and have been having some cutting problems. Not everytime but I'm starting to think I'm maybe doing something wrong. Sometimes when I'm cutting my cigars they are bursting as in the wrapper or what's left of the cap is splitting leading to some unravelling problems :(. I've been careful not to cut too much off the cap but am still getting the problem. I bought a new colibri cutter but no difference so I'm thinking the problem is me. I don't wanna be bursting anymore cigars. It never seems to happen with the torpedos but have lost 4 or 5 others sizes so far. Any ideas?? :S

Comments

• wwhwangwwhwang Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭
    If you're really having problems, try putting the cutter flat on a table, put the cigar through thr hole, then cut. Works every time. This should cut just enough so that it doesn't unravel your cigar. That's the tricky thing with parejo shaped cigars. I prefer torpedos because they're easier to cut, have better draw, and it's a bit smoother in my opinion.
  • YankeeManYankeeMan Posts: 2,654 ✭✭✭✭✭
    It may be the cutter. I've had two different Colibri cutters and both tend to mash the cigars rather than cut them.

Get yourself a good guillitine cutter or treat yourself to a Xikar. They are extremely sharp and you can cut just a little off the cigar and you shouldn't have the unravelling problem.
  • camgfscamgfs Posts: 968
    YankeeMan:
    It may be the cutter. I've had two different Colibri cutters and both tend to mash the cigars rather than cut them.

Get yourself a good guillitine cutter or treat yourself to a Xikar. They are extremely sharp and you can cut just a little off the cigar and you shouldn't have the unravelling problem.
    I agree with Yankee 100%. Either of my Xikar cutters have always worked great, with no ruined cigars, ever.