Home Cigar 101

smoking to slow?

Hey guys I'm new to cigars and today I bought what is about my 5th smoke. I've read the blogs and reviews here and on other sites endlessly for the last 5 days to try and get educated before I start spending. So today I went to Tinderbox in Ahwatukee, AZ and bought 2 Flor de Oliva's (Natural and Maduro, Robustos) and a Gurkha shaggy churchill.  So I cut and lit the maduro tonight, and I'm pretty sure this is the strongest cigar I've tried.  My question is how do  I know if I'm smoking to slow?  The reason I'm curious is because about half way thru the cigar it started tasting much less like a cigar and more like tar and smoke.  I decided I wasn't enjoying it so I put it out and decided to inspect the inside of it.  To smoke half way thru the cigar took me about 35-40 minutes, after I cut it half an inch behind the ash the middle of the tobacco was black.  The out edge of the cigar, my guess is the outer 1/4 inch, was untouched.  I cut back another half inch and it was the same only the the burn area was half the size.  Also by this time the light was almost gone, as in I had to take 3-4 strong puffs to draw any smoke.  I was just wondering if this is normal and/or am I smoking to slow?  Sorry for the lengthy explanation.

Comments

• HaysHays Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭
    Welcome to the forums bro! Sounds like you're off to a great start. In reference to your question, it could actually be a couple different things...

** You may actually be smoking too fast..? The general rule is a puff every 45-60 seconds or so (it's worth it to time yourself a few times - in no time at all, it will become second nature). Smoking much faster than this can overheat the tobacco, which will lead to the harshness and build-up of tar that you experienced.