Home Cigar 101

What does it mean when the wrapper split open?

Bad construction. Humidity issue?

Comments

• laker1963laker1963 Posts: 5,046
    JY001:
    Bad construction. Humidity issue?
    Yes. Humidity most likely. Sometimes a vien or flaw in the wrapper, but mostly humidity. What RH is your Humi?
  • JY001JY001 Posts: 49
    RH is 69, temp is 73. I had a cigar from the same box a few days ago and all was well.
  • Russ55Russ55 Posts: 2,765 ✭✭
    How hot and/or humid was it outside?
    Russ55:
    How hot and/or humid was it outside?
    Yup, that is the next question...
  • JY001JY001 Posts: 49
    It's hot and humid, more so than when I had the other one. I'll see how the next one goes. Thanks!
  • Russ55Russ55 Posts: 2,765 ✭✭
    Puff really soft and slow at first, moreso than normal, and maybe leave the stick out for a bit before you smoke it. Not too long. 20 minutes or so. That's what I do when it's super hot outside, and it's seemed to help. I'm no expert though, your mileage may vary.
  • xmacroxmacro Posts: 3,402
    JY001:
    It's hot and humid, more so than when I had the other one. I'll see how the next one goes. Thanks!
    Down here in Florida, that's my problem as well; my cigars are at 65%/73F in the humi, but when I step outside into 85% humidity and 85F heat, the wrapper sometimes cracks.
    xmacro:
    JY001:
    Down here in Florida, that's my problem as well; my cigars are at 65%/73F in the humi, but when I step outside into 85% humidity and 85F heat, the wrapper sometimes cracks.
    Have you found leaving the stick out in the environment for a half hour or so helps? I live on an island and the Humidity os always the issue. Leaving it out of the humi for a half hour before I light it seems to help. It seems the wrapper can absorb a little of the excess humidity without the RH of the filler getting too high. So it burns like it should, but the wrapper is a little more pliable, so it doesn't split, at least not as often.