Home Cigar 101

sponge humidifier

JTJT Posts: 6
I just purchased the rectangle humidifier available from this site for $14.95. I am very new with cigar smoking so please bear with me. Do I have to soak the sponge in distilled water? If so, what is the best way to do it. My humidor fits 75 cigars. It still isn't seasoned, I haven't installed the humidifier, and my order of 75+ cigars just came in. (Cigar.com very fast shipping) Please help. How long do I have before my cigars start drying? Thank you for your help.

Comments

• kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    first worry about the cigars. get them in ziploc or tupperware. they should be good for about a week in there.

ad far as the foam goes:
    when i used the foam i would put a few drops in the foam and let it soak in, thena few more drops. when it wouldnaccept any more i would wipe off the extra and go with that.

seasoning a humidor can take place over night if you do it right. get a wide flatish bowl and fill it with water. let it sit in there untill the humidity is between 70 and 72. the ideal situation is to have it at 70 for a day or two before you add the cigars.
    Some people think its ok to wipe down the interior with distilled water and that will speed up the seasoning proscess. I think that if you arent careful this could add too much moisture too quick and wipeing it down should be left to professionals (or dare devils). I did it to my first humidor and it turned out ok (lucky i guess) my last two were the "long" way

I hope this helped
  • pilot711pilot711 Posts: 176