Home Cigar 101

5 count herf a dor by humi care

i just got the 5 ct herf with a 5 stick sampler.I took the sticks out and put em in my humi.My question is when i need to use the herf is it ready to go as is? the reason i ask is without a hygrometer in there i dont know the humidity.Im new to this and they dont send instructions or pointers with the shipment.It dosent seem to me like i can get the green foam in the mini puck out,so i cant see having to do anything with it at all.anyone know about this? thanks for your help in advance

Comments

• FourtotheflushFourtotheflush Posts: 2,555
    I wouldnt use the Herfador as a storage location, only as a transporation location. To bring your sticks with you on a trip, herf or vacation.
  • the green foam is a humidifier and you put a little distilled water in there and you are good to go.
  • docbp87docbp87 Posts: 3,521
    Christian_Sapp:
    the green foam is a humidifier and you put a little distilled water in there and you are good to go.
    But you're better off NOT doing that actually, as the foam tends to turn into a mold factory, and since the Herfador is air-tight you don't need to worry about humidity loss as long as it is closed. Don't leave it opened for too long at a time while you have cigars in there are you should be fine. A cigar can survive even a few days unhumidified without any real repercussions, and in a herfador, you don't even really have to worry about that.
  • jship079jship079 Posts: 621
    docbp87:
    Christian_Sapp:
    the green foam is a humidifier and you put a little distilled water in there and you are good to go.