Home Cigar 101

My New Single Stick Heavy-service Humi!

Smoke=FireSmoke=Fire Posts: 692 ✭✭✭
All right. I am a Firefighter with the Forest Service. So frequently I get sent out to the boonies on fires in the summer, but still would like to take a cigar along for those perfect summer nights on top of a peak somewhere. But I could not think of a way to keep a cigar in a fire pack without it turning to mush, as my 10-stick sliding leather travel humi from c.com is fine for a glovebox, but not a firepack. :(

I got to brainstorming though, and this is what I came up with :)

I took a piece of 1 1/4" schedule 40 PVC cut to 8" length (figuring a churchill max). Two caps, one of them filled with 65% beads, and those are retained with a tripled over layer of nylon material "liberated" from my wife. The inside has a single layer of cut-to-fit small-bubble bubble wrap as a shock absorber, and voila!! Instant single-stick heavy-service travel humi :D I even have a small bottle of distilled water from my belt weather kit ;).

I'll let you all know how well it works out in field testing, but I think I may have solved my problems...for under $2.00, not counting beads as I had extra sitting around anyway ;)

When I told my wife I needed nylon material, she told me about little "booties" that they have in the woman's shoe section. Sure enough, they have boxes of new ones for the ladies to slip on when trying on shoes, then dispose of :D

*pictures hordes of cigar chomping men descending on Payless Shoe Store ladies isle* :P

Comments

• rdnstnrdnstn Posts: 993 ✭✭
    Sounds interesting. Let us know how it works out.

I myself would have just spent the $15 on amazon for one of the hard plastic travel humidors. I think they are made by pelican. If not, then it is otter box. I don't remember right now, but you can get them to hold 5, 10, or 15 sticks.
  • Smoke=FireSmoke=Fire Posts: 692 ✭✭✭