Home Cigar 101

Gurkha Sampler...

Ok I’m know it maybe a retarded question, but I’m very new to this and I just want to make sure I’m doing the right things to make sure I get the best effect from these wonderful cigars.. I recently got some cigars from this company and a herf-a-dor to store them in for now while I’m deployed to Iraq.. I read up all the information on this form about taking care of them and keeping them within the right humidity. so that I kinda have a grasp on.. Ok hey come the stupid question.. The individual cigars came in a plastic protective wrapper, now when I place them in the Herf-A-Dor do I take the cigars out of the plastic protective wrapper and place them in the box, or leave them in the wrapper with the humidifier in the box..? Just curious.

Comments

• Leave them in the wrapper to help protect them... If possible, Get some Humi pillows for that Herf Keep your head down and stay safe!
  • docbp87docbp87 Posts: 3,521
    Cellophane or not is personal preference. For me personally, sticks that I put in my long term humidor, I usually take the cellophane off, as that helps aging. For stuff that goes in my every day humidor, that I root through on a regular basis, I keep the cello on, just to keep them from getting any unnecessary nicks and scratches. If I were you, I would leave the cello on. Thanks for everything you are doing for our country, by the way.
  • JCizzleJCizzle Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭
    Doesn't matter, I leave mine on out of laziness.
    Light 'em up.
  • I agree with the others. I like to leave them on for a little extra protection while rummaging through for your next smoke :) Also like Mperconte said, make sure to have some humi pillows in that herf-a-dor, here in Iraq the dry air will do horrible things to your cigars. Also PM sent to you.
  • lilwing88lilwing88 Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭
    +1000 on the humi-pillows. If you have a 15-ct or higher use 2 or more...... Leave cellos on.