Home Cigar 101

First post - how did I screw up?

First, hello to all. I've been lurking here and several other forums for the past week or so, but decided to join up here since I liked it the best. Seems like a great community.

So, I'm relatively new to all this. I recently started hanging out with a business acquaintance who loves cigars, and I'm starting to get into it as well. So, I broke out my old humidor (an old unused gift) and started trying to get it ready.

Rather than try to guess what mistakes I've made (you don't know what you don't know, I guess), I thought maybe I'd just describe what I've done and take direction/criticism as warranted. First, I wiped the inside out of the humidor out thoroughly, and threw in a Boveda 84% pack to season it (it's a 50 ct desktop humidor). I left it sealed for a week, while the few cigars I had are in a ziplock bag with a drymistat tube. I checked the humidity of the humidor using a calibrated hygrometer after a week, and found it to be abour 60%. Unfortunately, the humidity in the bag containing my cigars is now creeping up to around 75%, so I'd like to get the sticks to my box as soon as I can.

So, what have I done wrong? I'm sure it's something, and I'm reading as much as tim allows - but I'd love tap the collective knowledge of the group as I learn!

Comments

• wwhwangwwhwang Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭
    Did you check the seal with the dollar bill test? Also, is the hygrometer a digital one or just an adjustable analog? Also, did you put in the humidifier as well as the seasoning pack (this is crucial)?
  • I'll have to look into the dollar bill test, I haven't done that. The hygrometer is a digital one I just purchased and calibrated.

And to the last part, I'm assuming you mean put a drymistat in with the Boveda seasoning pack? I didn't do that, but I bought an extra tube so I will!
  • Russ55Russ55 Posts: 2,765 ✭✭