Home Cigar 101

Box Pressed Cigars

y2pascoey2pascoe Posts: 1,727 ✭✭
What does this mean? Is it some kind of enhancement? Still a noob here.

Comments

• KCWKCW Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭
    The cigar is ultimately pressed into a box shape (four flat sides as opposed to being round).
  • y2pascoey2pascoe Posts: 1,727 ✭✭
    Any advantage to that? Sounds like it would give the cigar a tighter draw?
  • kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    y2pascoe:
    nope. it doesnt have a tighter draw than the same cigar unpressed.

when i asked Jose Padron why the 1964 Anniversary cigars were box pressed the only answer i got was "because that is its shape, it is not that cigar with out it"
    i got one while at the factory right off the rolling table before it got pressed. the draw was about the same. i couldnt tell a difference.

when head of quality control at Oliva brought up box pressing cigars i was told that the reason why they do it is "because they can" (along with other interesting shapes and sizes)

there is a theory how the shape came about...
    at one time in cuba (it is rumored) the cigars were packed in a box with a higher humidity. they were packed tighter and closed up with this lid. as they aged before release they slowly took on this shape.
    some people liked it and now many factories go out of their way to make box pressed cigars.

• JCizzleJCizzle Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭
    One thing I like about them is you can set them down and they won't roll off...
    Light 'em up.
  • RampMonkeyRampMonkey Posts: 1,808
    +1
  • bacon.jaybacon.jay Posts: 720 ✭✭✭
    RampMonkey:
    +1
    +2

• The SniperThe Sniper Posts: 3,910
    I seem to have a higher incident of burn issues with box pressed cigars for some reason. No scientific data or percentages or anything, just something Ive noticed over the years....

• rgalyon0911rgalyon0911 Posts: 53
    bacon.jay:
    RampMonkey:
    +1
    +2

+3
  • ENFIDLENFIDL Posts: 5,836
    The Sniper: