Home Cigar 101

newbie here

Hello everyone. I'm an occasional smoker that would just go to my local shop and purchase a cigar whenever the urge struck me. I recently received a humidor as a gift. With some ups and downs I believe I have the humidity stabilized. My question is because my use is infrequent, what are your thoughts of using gels or Boveda packs for long term maintainence of my humidor. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Amos_UmwhatAmos_Umwhat Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭✭✭
    First, welcome to the forums. Second, now that you've found us, your humidor is likely to get a lot more use. Third, I've only ever used the pucks and water pillows, and have had great success with these, but a lot of guys have reported mold problems with the pucks, and you'll find many who prefer the beads. Whatever you do, the best advice I know is: Keep the humidor stocked! CCOM will be glad to help you with this, and you'll find you're spending much less than you were.
    WARNING:  The above post may contain thoughts or ideas known to the State of Caliphornia to cause seething rage, confusion, distemper, nausea, perspiration, sphincter release, or cranial implosion to persons who implicitly trust only one news source, or find themselves at either the left or right political extreme.  Proceed at your own risk.  

"If you do not read the newspapers you're uninformed.  If you do read the newspapers, you're misinformed." --  Mark Twain
  • xmacroxmacro Posts: 3,402
    Amos is right - keep the humi stocked if you want a stable humidity. In a humi, the cigars are actually the primary humidifiers, with the beads or humidity device only providing backup - the more full your humi is, the more stable the RH will be.
  • laker1963laker1963 Posts: 5,046
    WELCOME ABOARD! ... and what they said :)
  • Baby steps, baby steps...and thanks
  • rgalyon0911rgalyon0911 Posts: 53
    Welcome and keep it stocked. If you run out of room then the guys here will be glad to "hold" onto some of them for u!