Home Cigar 101

Humidity Level?

Hi everyone - this is my first post - I've been smoking for about 6 months now and would definitely consider myself addicted to the hobby. I have a humidor that currently houses 26 cigars (with 5more on the way) just a selection of different brands sizes, etc.

I've got ICE Gel Crystals in my case for humidification but am finding myself constantly having to wipe down the inside of my humidor to keep it at 70. I can drop the lid from a fully open position and it will stay open about a 1/4" so I don't think it's a seal issue (but what do I know!)

I currently house my humidor inside of  my liquor cabinet so there shouldn't be a heat issue, but I'm at a loss and desperately need suggestions.

Thanks for any help :)

Smokin' Scott

Comments

• kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    did you ever do a true season to the humidor and did you calibrate your (digital) hygrometer?
  • ScottUScottU Posts: 194
    I followed the instructions that the cigar shop gave me which included wiping the interior down with distilled water, and leaving a glass full of distilled water in for 24 hours...

Thanks for the reply
  • j0z3rj0z3r Posts: 9,403 ✭✭
    Perhaps you do not have enough humidity being put off by your humidification device.
  • Garen BGaren B Posts: 977
    What did the humidity stay at once your were finished seasoning and before you put your cigars in the humi? You might need to re-season the humi for a few days before sticking your stogies back in.

If all else fails say its the humidity gremlins messing with your gel.
    The thing with that Garen is that even if he had an incomplete seasoning the first time, by keeping a humidification device in there he would be completing the seasoning process. I've had a problem similar to this in the past, and it was caused by not having a sufficient amount of my humidification device, beads in my case.
  • Garen BGaren B Posts: 977