Home Non Cigar Related

home brew

Hey everyone, I just started brewing my own beer (my first batch has been fermenting for approx 2 days). I was wondering if anyone else home brews?

Comments

• sanesane Posts: 151
    I've been wanting to get into it, a good friend just moved down the street from me and he is a very good brewer.

He just made an excellent wet hops Belgium.
  • Stryker808Stryker808 Posts: 269
    Home Brewing is where its at!  You have the tools in your hand to create the best beer to fit your tastes.  At first I followed the instructions and recipes to a tee.  However, just like good cooking, you have to have experience, feel, taste, and an experimental attitude.  Once you figure out whats going on, don't be afraid to experiment with different hops, timing on adding the hops, etc.  It makes a big difference in taste, but you start to understand what each part of the process and what each ingredient adds to the total package.  Then you can start to make your own recipes.  You will really appriciate beer more now.  Happy Brewing man!!
  • Home brewer here too. I typically do wine but sometimes do beer as well. I come from an old Italian family and a lot of us brew at home and then trade our recent projects on holidays. And Stryker is right, really the only thing that matters in the instructions is to make sure you sanitize things so you get alcohol instead of rot.
  • dep691dep691 Posts: 311
    Ask Madurofan, I believe he was thinking about dabling in it. Not sure how far he got into it though.
  • madurofanmadurofan Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭
    I'm still thinking about it, I bought the books and have perused the local home brew USA store numerous times. Just haven't been ready to drop $200 for the "starter kit" yet. Soon though, the neighbor and I are probably going to go in together and get the kit.
  • zoom6zoomzoom6zoom Posts: 1,214