Home Cigar 101

First Oliva G - Hard - cracking wrapper.....Happy Ending!

jadeltjadelt Posts: 763 ✭✭
I have been smoking cigars for a few months and have had many I liked... Punch, Rocky Patel, Cohiba, and the CCom sampler. Liked almost everything. Tonight I went to a local shop and picked up a Oliva G Robusto. It was hard, so tight it was hard to smoke. I hoped it would loosen up. The wrapper even cracked..... so here is my question of etiquette ... do I take it back and tell them .... should I just forget about it..... not sure what the right thing to do is.... I plan to go back to the store tomorrow and talk to them.... did I just get a bad apple? I even tried punching a hole with a toothpick.... hard as a rock in the middle..... what would you do ? Thanks

Comments

• docbp87docbp87 Posts: 3,521
    Sounds like a serious dud, improperly stored... over packed and overhumidified.
  • jr_p951jr_p951 Posts: 1,121
    Some have mentioned complaining or taking smokes back, but i never have. I know there will be good and bad in just about every brand. BUT...if I would buy two and both be duds, I'd bring it up so the shop can tend to the box. That way others don't share the same fate. Maybe they'll be generous but I wouldn't expect it. I've never had the Oliva G but hear its a good smoke.
  • jadeltjadelt Posts: 763 ✭✭
    Thanks..... I will stop in tomorrow since I will be in town and talk to them.... I put the bad smoke in a ziplock so they can see for themselves.

I am not expecting anything but maybe they should know.

Ironically, other than shared cigars with friends this is the first time I purchased at a store..... the rest were all online purchases I have made and they have all been in great condition and great smokes.

I will let you know what they say..... Thanks again

• If it were me, I'd forget about it quickly and buy something else (probably not from the same shop, unless you've had good experiences with them before).