Home Cigar 101

Few setup questions

Hi all. I'm fairly new to the cigar world and have outgrown my 20-count humidor that I started with, with ease. I now plan on upgrading to a 100 count and have just a few questions.

1) I plan on not using the little "hockey puck" that comes with my humidor and buying one of the Humi-Care Cigar Gel on ccom. I just wet the stuff with distilled water and place the whole thing in my humidor? Is it safe to season with that as well?

2)For a humidor that size and it being the dead of winter where I am, how long, approximately, am I looking at for a season time?

3) I've lurked for a while now and value everyone's opinion. I wanted to buy the Man o'War humidor mostly based on it's outward appearance. Does anyone have this one and can vouch that it's a good product? Is there a 100+ count out there, in similar price range, that may not be aesthetically pleasing but better functioning?

Thanks all and I welcome your responses.

Comments

• jkallen83jkallen83 Posts: 142
    Check sizes of the humidor u buy...I bought a 120 count and it will NOT hold that many...I got a gel jar, not really impressive, I guess it works but not great...I got a cigar mechanic puck with beads and its awesome...main thing from my experience is see what size cigar u mostly have and get a humidor bigger than what u plan on.
  • RhamlinRhamlin Posts: 8,908 ✭✭✭✭✭
    If you outgrew your 20 ct that fast and are thinking a 100 ct then I'd go with a 150 ct or bigger. And yes you can use that to season your humi but I'd also put a shot glass of dw in there to.
    Now that winters here it may take a week maybe less maybe more.
    one of those large humicare rectangles will probably be big enough but you might want to get a bead puck to. That's what I use and it works great
  • kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭