Home Ratings & Reviews

1 yr old Opus X - Perfecxion X

Well, while I was being ornery and argumentative this past year about the collecting/storing/aging of cigars, I've been aging 2 Opus Xs and 2 Anejos. Smoked one of them last night. This was a Perfexion X that came with the AF 2010 Holiday Sample box. It was not my first Opus X. However, it is the first one that I aged for a year.
Kuzi and Doc and others swear that it is notably different, and better, after at least a year. Others have indicated that even 1 year wasn't enough. Well, I can't just go by what other people say. I had to prove it myself.

How should I put this??... They were right. (humbly)

I'm not a professional reviewer and won't try to enlighten you on the subtle nuances and apple blossom tea flavors and such. I did taste the initial sweet spiciness at the start. But it was a tad different. Whereas others I had tried had the peppery spice of the filler, and sweetness from the wrapper, it now had a blended flavor. The spice, although not as strong, was there. The sweetness also. But now it almost tasted pepperminty? sweet, cool spicy? Not sure how I would describe it.

By the 3rd draw, it hit me. The smoke. What a wonderful feeling. And I use the word feeling, because it had texture. I want to use the term "velvet". Now I've had cigars that could really be described as feeling creamy. Almost like the feel of milk on your palate. And I've had a few ISOMs that were almost oily on the palate. But this smoke? The blending of the flavors mentioned-above pales in comparison to the blending that has occurred to create this full bodied masterpiece. You cannot separate the wrapper smoke flavor from the filler smoke flavor. The components are still there but they have taken on a whole new, broader profile.