Home Cigar 101

Novice

I am a novice to cigar smoking. What is a good cigar for beginners? Do I need to purchase a humidor? How long can a cigar stay fresh without being in a humidor?

Comments

• j0z3rj0z3r Posts: 9,403 ✭✭
    Welcome. A good cigar to start with, I'd say look into the 5 Vegas Gold or Classic, also the Cigar.com house blends are pretty good and easy on the wallet, the Cuban blend is my favorite. You don't absolutely have to buy a humidor, but it is recommended. You can get by with a large tupperware type container, something that seals tightly to keep moisture in. You really won't want to keep a cigar outside of a humidor (or some tight sealed container) for too long, a day is too long to leave a cigar out unless it is in a bag, even then you won't want to leave a cigar in a bag for too long without humidification.
  • phobicsquirrelphobicsquirrel Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭
    j0z3r:
    Welcome. A good cigar to start with, I'd say look into the 5 Vegas Gold or Classic, also the Cigar.com house blends are pretty good and easy on the wallet, the Cuban blend is my favorite. You don't absolutely have to buy a humidor, but it is recommended. You can get by with a large tupperware type container, something that seals tightly to keep moisture in. You really won't want to keep a cigar outside of a humidor (or some tight sealed container) for too long, a day is too long to leave a cigar out unless it is in a bag, even then you won't want to leave a cigar in a bag for too long without humidification.
    couldn't have said it better myself! +1!
  • VidarienVidarien Posts: 246
    SlickRS:

I am a novice to cigar smoking. What is a good cigar for beginners? Do I need to purchase a humidor? How long can a cigar stay fresh without being in a humidor?