Home Cigar 101

Question about humidors with drawers

mmccartneydcmmccartneydc Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭

Hey all,

I am a complete newb (pridefully) and my father in law gave me a 200 count humidor.  Needless to say it is definitely on the empty side, but my question is about the seal.  I have seasoned it and the humidity is holding at 73.  My question is, without a lid to hear the "whoosh", how do I know if there is a good seal? Also, should I even care if my digital hygrometer stays consistent at 73.  Thanks to any info.

Dr M

Comments

• doromathdoromath Posts: 576
    I did the flashlight test on mine: put a flashlight in your humi and completely darken the room. If you see light leaking through then you need to fix the seal. For mine I used some thin adhesive backed felt to put on the top of the drawer fronts. Worked like a charm.

As for your humi staying at 73 I would advise against itas you are in mold territory at extended time. I find also I get burn issues that high. my humi fluctuates between 65 &68 normally, though now and again it spikes at 70. Hope that helps!
  • mmccartneydcmmccartneydc Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭
    Thanks doromath, I will try that with a flashlight tonight! I read somewhere that an open seal can lead to high readings. I took the foam thing out and im holding steady at 71 now. Cigars are safe from what Ive heard!!!
  • SmokindaddySmokindaddy Posts: 1,107
    It's a good thing you have a digital hygrometer as well. When you get a chance and if you have not already I would calibrate both hygrometers by doing the salt test. It's a fairly simple thing to do and the instructions can be found on google. Personally I would never trust a analog, the digital may be a few points off which could be why it's reading high. Also most solid wood humidors will have a good seal, some just will not but it's the glass tops you really have to be careful of. Hope this helps.