Home Cigar 101

Can you 'experts' help me define my 'cigar preference profile'?

thunkitthunkit Posts: 2
Hello!

I'm very new to serial cigar smoking (hadn't smoked one in twenty years, and only then maybe once a year) so I'm trying to figure out my general likes and dislikes. I ordered the "Choice Cuts 54-Ring" sampler from CI and the 10-cigar sampler/humidor deal from Cigar.com. So far, there are my general impressions of what I've smoked so far from these sets.

Joya de Nicaragua Antano: This has been my favorite of all I've tried so far. For me, it's very full tasting and flavorful.

CAO Gold Maduro: Enjoyed this one a whole llot--starts off slow, and builds in flavor.

Morrow Castle Toro:--Quite nice, very pleasant.

Ave Maria Toro: I found this hard to get burning and not particulary flavorful.

Cohiba 'Red Dot': Surprisingly, the worst cigar I've smoked so far. An incredibly bitter taste with no subtlety whatsoever.

5 Vegas Triple A Toro: An okay cigar with some nice spices, but nothing outstanding.

Man O' War Ruination Toro: Pleasant, but not particularly memorable.

La Herencia Cubano Toro: A nice smoke with nice spices, but, overall, not particularly memorable.

From your experience, do my likes and dislikes point to a patter, i.e., full vs. mild, country-specific, or style specific? If so, are there any other cigars I might move on to next on my sampling trail? At the moment, I still have the following to try out:

Man O' War Virtue Toro
La Herencia Cubana Oscuro Fuerte
Diesel Toro
Graycliff Turbo Toro
Sancho Panza
La Gloria Cubana Series R
Hoyo De Monterey
Padilla Miami
CAO Black

Any thoughts on these or other brands/styles? Thanks for your opinions.

Jeff

Comments

• beatnicbeatnic Posts: 4,133