Home Cigar 101

Just Getting Started

Hey guys,

I am new to the cigar world, but am very excited about starting my journey in this hobby. I have always been interested in cigars as some of the people in my family would smoke them on special occasions (however, no one in my family ever had a humidor or stored cigars). My brother-in-law is really into cigars and has been collecting and smoking for a while now, and I want to get into not only for me but also to have something to share with him. I have been reading up and getting acclimated with cigars and I want to start getting more serious. I know sites like this have "starter packs" with humidors, cutters, lighters, and sample packs of smokes, but since I know this will become a longtime hobby of mine I would rather choose my own humidor, lighter, cutter, etc. I know I should buy a bigger humidor than I think, I was thinking I should start with a 100 count. I have been scoping out the sprint sale for some things to get me started, but I wanted some other opinions are what will be good products that will last me awhile and be of good quality, but also be affordable (since I am only in college and have a limited budget). Any suggestions on some smokes to try as I am beginning would be greatly appreciated as well since I have only been exposed to a smoke here or there when I visit my brother-in-law.

Comments

• BombayBombay Posts: 1,207
    welcome aboard cp. I would say that you should read up on a cooler, not because you need the space but it would be an easy way to store on the cheap while giving you enough space to grow into. Everyone has their own preference on cutters and lighters so you may have to try a couple before you find the right one. Stick around awhile and keep reading and soak up the knowledge. Enjoy.
  • cpulidocpulido Posts: 8