Home Cigar 101

Humidor - I got shot down!

0 That Guy 00 That Guy 0 Posts: 188

Not really......but today I walked into a Smoke shop in the Charlotte area to look for a humidor and was staright up told not to buy one by a guy who makes his living in sales. I was surprised to say the least but his reasoning for me was that A) if I'm not smoking one everyday or even a few times a week it's not worth it and B) they need to be babied constantly in order to maintain them, from recharching to rotating cigars to whatever else is involved. I guess he was saying its more of a pain then a luxury. I never really had a good vibe from the guy and he kind of made me feel like I was too young and inexperienced to worry about getting this involved. That being said we did talk cigars for a while but I ended up walking out with a couple of sticks rather then what I actually went in for.

I am new to cigars but what do you all think? Is a humidor necessary and easier to maintain then what this guy made it out to be?

Thanks

Comments

• kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    wow

go find a new shop.

humidors do take SOME work. but i would say i put about 20min every MONTH in upkeep. once it is set up, recharging is easy. rotation happens naturally if you put all your "new" smokes on the bottom. heck, i only "rotate" once every 3 months at most. maybe his humidor sucks and he has to baby it. but my humidor almost takes care of itself.

you should have asked him if you wanted to age a cigar how would you do it without a humidor.
  • SlickRSSlickRS Posts: 44