Home Cigar 101

Playing with humidity - and losing the battle!

0 That Guy 00 That Guy 0 Posts: 188
I wanted to also point out as a boob newb I'm already learning what the difference in humidity will do to the smokes. I was keeping everything in humi-bags for a few weeks at 68% humidity and was enjoying everyone of my cigars from the light to the "roach." I then placed a 69% packet along with the humi-care pack that comes with Ccom deliveries to help rejuvenate the cigars that looked dry and the humidity was sitting at 72% for around 48 hours - just 4% over the 68% so no real change right? WRONG!

I just tried to smoke a 5 Vegas Miami which I had been looking forward to and had nothing but problems with it. I was puffing my ass off just trying to keep it lit until I started feeling queezy from it and was forced to lay it down. I now see why so many recommend the 65% RH for good smokes! Another hard lesson learned I just hope after a few hours of it resting outside of the humi I can finish it off enjoyably.

Comments

• bwcarter54bwcarter54 Posts: 142
    You probally had a plugged cigar. I don't think that 4% rise in rh would give you that bad of a problem. I've had a few plugs in some good quality sticks and there's not much you can do with those except lay it down and get yourself another one. Some plugs are so bad it's like trying to suck a nail out of a 2X4.
  • 0 That Guy 00 That Guy 0 Posts: 188
    wow interesting I didn't even think about that. I read just the other day that when it's like that to take a straightened paper clip or something similar and shove it through the cigar almost to the cherry to see if it will loosen the draw but I completely forgot about it.
  • HugemooseHugemoose Posts: 458