Home Non Cigar Related

I have a car problem too.... :(

So im a shade tree mechanic, but i suck at electrical stuff and this one has me stumped...

The vehicle in question is a 2001 Jeep Cherokee (not a grand) Sport with the police package(4.0 i6, automatic, 146k miles). The Problem im having is that while driving down the road the lights/radio/everything electrical will fade in and out randomly and for varying lengths of time. I thought it was a bad cell in the battery so i got it checked out, they said it was bad, and i put a new one in and it was fine for a little while...but it started up again. Luckily i can take the bus to work tonight but if anyone has a clue what it could be or knows of a good mechanic in the Disney/Kissimmee area please let me know, Thanks!

Comments

• jlmartajlmarta Posts: 7,881 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I'm by no means a mechanic but that sounds like an alternator problem to me.....

• taythegibstaythegibs Posts: 2,025
    jlmarta:
    I'm by no means a mechanic but that sounds like an alternator problem to me.....

thats what im fearing...
  • 0patience0patience Posts: 10,665 ✭✭✭✭✭
    jlmarta:
    I'm by no means a mechanic but that sounds like an alternator problem to me.....>
    Yep. The regulator is probably starting to fail. You need to have it tested.
    The alternator for your vehicle is about $110, so replacing it needlessly is expensive. Most auto parts places can test the alternator. The inline 6 is relatively easy to pull the alternator and take it in to have it properly tested. But also check the grounds and wiring and make sure the connections are tight, clean and not broken.
    In Fumo Pax
    Money can't buy happiness, but it can buy cigars and that's close enough.

Wylaff said:
    Atmospheric pressure and crap.
  • The_KidThe_Kid Posts: 7,869 ✭✭✭
    0patience:
    jlmarta:
    I'm by no means a mechanic but that sounds like an alternator problem to me.....>