Home Pipes

I have absolutely no clue what I'm doing.

As a fellow CCOM user and BORK, I've come to learn a great deal about smoking. But my knowledge is exclusively catered to cigars. I would like to start smoking pipe tobacco, but don't even know what I need, or how to light it. I know how amateur this must sound, but please bear with me. I also don't want to spend a lot of money, so I was thinking about picking up a few corn cob pipes. How many times can you smoke with one before you need to replace? What do I need to light it, and are there any other things I might need? If there is another thread that I find that can answer all of my questions, I'll find it and delete this. Thanks! -Rob

Comments

• HaybletHayblet Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭
    don't EVER use a torch to light, as to what with, seen it all from soft flames, zippos, matches, or bics there's an instructional video in some section of the C.com videos about ho to pack n light a bowl, I have no experience with corn cobs so I can't help there
  • Cobs are very forgiving. You don't have to build up a cake in a cob to get a cool, smooth smoke. Call Cigar.com and ask for Andrew - he seems to be the go-to pipe guy. Get a couple cobs and a couple kinds of aromatic tobacco. A pack or two of pipe cleaners, a Czech tool or a pipe nail for a tamper, and you're all set. I recommend wooden matches. There's a guy on YouTube who also has a website called Aristocob.com and he makes videos about smoking cob pipes. The most important thing is that you relax and learn the hobby. It takes some time to figure out how you like to pack your pipes, what kind of draw you like, your cadence (how often and how deep you puff), etc. The fall is a great time to start. Sit outside (if you can) with a hoodie and a cup of coffee and start practicing.
  • MarkerMarker Posts: 2,524