Home Cigar 101

How long to wait

brianetz1brianetz1 Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭
My wife got me a humidor gift package from cigars.com and left the sticks in the humidor for several weeks without the humidor being seasoned and without any humidification.

Any suggestions on how to tell if they are too dried out to smoke and if so how long should i wait to smoke them after they have been put in a seasoned humidor?

I know you should let them age a while regardless, but since i am new to this i am trying to get a feel for things like this.

Comments

• bigharpoonbigharpoon Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭
    No need to figure out if they are too dry to smoke or not, I guarantee they are. Put them into a ziploc PRONTO and if she still has the humi pillow they shipped with put that in the ziploc with them. Season the humidor well and place the cigars in there to re-acclimate. I wouldn't smoke them for a couple months at least.

The bright side: you have a good chance your smokes will survive this and now you have an excuse to buy more (to smoke while you wait the two months)!
  • brianetz1brianetz1 Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭
    Thanks for the info

they were swapped to a tupperware container as soon as i saw it and put in the humipillow.

I think she got the order in early december......she said they were shipped in the humidor with the humipillow in the humidor with it.

does that make a difference?

...i really want to try one of the diesel's :)
  • RhamlinRhamlin Posts: 8,908 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I doubt your cigars are in to bad of shape. Probably a couple weeks in the Tupperware dish with the humipillow and they'll probably be good to go but a month would be better if you can stand it.
  • catfishbluezzcatfishbluezz Posts: 7,000 ✭✭✭
    FYI...if you need to season the humidor, I just posted a thread on this. You will need beads and a digital hygro to get started. Your cigars will be fine in tupperware with the humi pillow.
    Rhamlin: