Home Cigar 101
Options

Cigar Tasting

So I've smoked a lot of cigars the past month or two. Have a nicely stocked humidor coming along with a tasty blend of what I like. As a relative newbie, I currently am in love with Nicaraguan maduros. I like the sweetness and almost feel like I can start tasting individual flavors in the cigars. Can anyone give me some hints on how I can start sniffing out individual flavors and better enjoying my smokes? I feel like I am on the cusp of doing so, but I am missing something. Any and all rookie help will be appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    bbass2bbass2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭
    Find a post by kuzi and click the link in his sig. It's a good place to start.
  • Options
    xmacroxmacro Posts: 3,402
    bbass2:
    Find a post by kuzi and click the link in his sig. It's a good place to start.
    +1

Kuzi's already written the closest thing this forum has ever seen to a definitive guide to developing your palate
  • Options
    kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
  • Options
    RoosterTXRoosterTX Posts: 16
    Thanks guys. Now I can try to start judging my cigars beyond "delicious" and "not delicious".
  • Options
    kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    You should still decide that but now you know why.
  • Options
    webmostwebmost Posts: 7,713 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hey thanks for posting that link to kuzi's how-to. I have it in my bookmarks but it's been too long since I visited. Went back and read the thing again just now. It is right on. I can remember tasting a belt while smoking a cigar, trying to figure out why an on line review I was looking at said the cigar tasted like leather.

I used to ask kuzi all sorts of oddball questions. He was always helpful.