Home Cigar 101

Recommendations for...

hey guys - I'm very new to the cigar world, but I do know that I most enjoy a flavor profile consisting of rich chocolate and leather with very minimal spice/pepper.  Can anyone recommend a cigar with that kind of flavor profile?

Comments

• xmacroxmacro Posts: 3,402
    Might wanna try a Man O' War or Man O' War Ruination. They both go great with a cup of hot chocolate as well

If you find a cigar you like but that's too spicy, just set it aside in your humi for a few months - spice/pepper is the first thing to mellow out in a cigar, and you can see a very noticeably difference after just a few months of rest
  • wwhwangwwhwang Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭
    Try out the Oliva G maduro. Dark chocolate, a bit of leather, no spice. It's affordable too.
  • OntheflyOnthefly Posts: 2
    thanks guys, very much appreciated
  • Gray4linesGray4lines Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I think the 5 Vegas A series is a great, chocolately, semi-sweet smoke. The AAA has more spice; I prefer the plain ol' A series.

The Oliva V is quite smooth and deep tasting. I think the spice takes kind of a back seat, especially considering it's packed full of ligero!
    LLA - Lancero Lovers of America
  • kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    i dont like spice that much either.
    my biggest suggestion is not so much in what specific cigars you should smoke, but in how you smoke them.

smoke as slow as you can

the slower you smoke the less spice you will have.

i find that Nicaraguan cigars have the most "offensive" spice if blended incorrectly. i would stay away from them until you have a good pace developed. a puff a minute, maybe slightly slower, is about where you should aim. a toro should be over an hour and a half (closer to 2 hours actually)
    also, stay away from stronger cigars. almost all cigars on this site will have somewhere in their description how strong they are. aim for a more mild and medium and you will cut down on spice.