Home Cigar 101

Dried out sticks

onestrangeoneonestrangeone Posts: 2,441 ✭✭✭✭✭
I have a few Fuente's that were left in an unmaintained Humidor for a while (8 yrs). If I rehydrate them for a year or so in a properly maintained humidor, does anyone know if they would recover or is this a lost cause?

Comments

• bbass2bbass2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭
    I'm no expert but I would guess at 8 years all oils are dried up so it won't help. You can always try rehydrating and either they come out okay or you just throw them away at a later date versus now.
  • thedjfish@comcast.netthedjfish@comcast.net Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭
    onestrangeone:
    I have a few Fuente's that were left in an unmaintained Humidor for a while (8 yrs). If I rehydrate them for a year or so in a properly maintained humidor, does anyone know if they would recover or is this a lost cause?
    its long shot but if you want to mess with them, grab a humi pack throw em in a large zip lock and place in a dark place for about 2 weeks ,check on them after the first week if no cracks let em' sit for another week, no cracks or splitting after 2 week,place a hygrometer check after 8-12 hrs if they are close to a humidity range that your humi is at place them in the humi let sit for about 2-3 months monitoring for cracks/splits,if they are below the range let them sit additional time in the bag checking ever so often, make sure the humi pack is also maintain it will ,ost likely start to dry out,its long shot but i have had friends do this, the cigars wont taste like when there where fresh,but with enough time sitting and being humidified they can be smoked how they taste? well thats a different story
  • Gray4linesGray4lines Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I agree, 8 yrs is a looong time to be dry. But might as well try! Dj's method sounds good, just slowly bring em back to a good rh. If they taste like crap after a few months, then id give up.

hope it works though! Good luck
    LLA - Lancero Lovers of America