Home Cigar 101

Aging at the B&M

beatnicbeatnic Posts: 4,133
Just curious for your thoughts. I've been smoking for 5 years and while visiting my local B&M I've noticed that certain boxes don't seem to move very fast and I'm almost certain there are sticks in their walk-in that are over 5 years old. At what point do you start your aging calendar? Heck, even Ccom has sticks on their shelves several years old, yet when an order arrives its considered ROTT. Any thoughts are appreciated.

Comments

• Gray4linesGray4lines Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I notice this too! Sometimes a box will last in a B&M for a looong time. I picked up a CAO brazilia Gol from the bottom of a box, and now, after having smoked them "fresh"and with over 1.5 years in my humi, I can tell this one had to be around 2+ years old. Excellent smoke! It spoiled me though, since that was my first ever Brazilia.

So, would I call that cigar aged, even though I just bought it? Well, yeah, but unfortunately I didnt really know it when I bought it, and I still dont (and will never) know exactly how old it was. So, I only know now how a brazilia will age, but dont know the timeframe.

So, finding a yellow cello, or bottom of the box beauty is just a bonus for me. Since I dont know how old it is, I can only measure time in my humi. But I would feel much less compelled to hold this kind of cigar for another year. Id prob give it a month to acclimate and smoke that baby.
    LLA - Lancero Lovers of America
  • RhamlinRhamlin Posts: 8,908 ✭✭✭✭✭
    beatnic:
    Just curious for your thoughts. I've been smoking for 5 years and while visiting my local B&M I've noticed that certain boxes don't seem to move very fast and I'm almost certain there are sticks in their walk-in that are over 5 years old. At what point do you start your aging calendar? Heck, even Ccom has sticks on their shelves several years old, yet when an order arrives its considered ROTT. Any thoughts are appreciated.