Home Cigar 101

Cigars to develop palate

MAJORdorMoMAJORdorMo Posts: 356
I've been smoking cigars for a few months now, but I have trouble identifying how the tastes in a cigar (leather, caramel, espresso, etc).
Could you guys post some cigars where one flavor REALLY stands out? Like, one that has a strong leather taste, nutty taste, caramel, chocolate, espresso, etc.

Thanks CCOM!

Comments

• kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    cedar --- partagas black

coco/coffee --- Sancho Panza double maduro

nutty --- punch gran puro
  • Renaissance_ManRenaissance_Man Posts: 973 ✭✭
    pure ash - sol cubano cuban cabinet... sorry had to write that.. it is the most distinct flavor i have ever gotten out of a cigar... :(
  • bigharpoonbigharpoon Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭
    Come on, now...that's just...really? I like Cuban cabinets. Huh.

I had a Gurkha Regent last week that tasted like a leather bomb.
  • Garen BGaren B Posts: 977
    bigharpoon:
    Come on, now...that's just...really? I like Cuban cabinets. Huh.

I had a Gurkha Regent last week that tasted like a leather bomb.
    Really? I don't remember the Regent having a ton of leather, more of a smooth earthy flavor.
  • GoldyGoldy Posts: 1,638 ✭✭
    Dont forget about the raisins in the Verdadero Organic
  • kaspera79kaspera79 Posts: 7,257 ✭✭✭
    Yeah garen, I remember this one being a smoke bomb.. earthy, nutty and moments of sweetness, but not really leather.. Just the way some perceive a taste.
  • cabinetmakercabinetmaker Posts: 2,560 ✭✭
    Graycliff 1666 is good for strong coffee flavors in the presidente size, not sure about the other sizes.
  • bigharpoonbigharpoon Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭
    Could be earthy, I'm not that good at picking out flavors. I just remember a really strong flavor and thinking "wow, that's leathery". I guess I should have thought "wow, that's earthy!" Oh well, I'll keep trying.
    Hey harp, Earth, leather, what's the difference what we call it as long as you like 'em..