Home Pipes

Tobacco Types

RainRain Posts: 8,958 ✭✭✭
Quick question. I'm reading in here, trying to get my learn on. It seems that you don't want to only have one pipe, because the tobacco will "ghost", or impart a flavor on the pipe after a while. So, with that...what are the different types? The only two I seem to be able to find are regular and aromatic (sp?). How do you tell the difference? Is this like the difference between Habano and Maduro, or infused and regular? Right now, it seems easier to say "This pipe is only for CAO blends".

Comments

• AugustWestAugustWest Posts: 62
    I'm by no means an expert, but I've been putting the cigars to rest and smoking pipe in the winters for the last couple years. You want to have different pipes if you smoke different kind of aromatics for sure. For example, the toppings on fruit-flavored tobacco will ghost the same way the toppings on a honey, caramel, or chocolate flavored tobacco will taste. Some toppings can get goopy and make a hell of a mess in your bowl too. In the non-aromatic world (where I smoke - just preference, nothing wrong with aro's), I have different pipes for my latakia blends (aka English), my straight Virginia's, and my VaPer's. If you're a lakeland guy, you'll definitely want a different pipe for these because they ghost like latakia but with a soapy/floral taste. Examples of what I smoke: Latakia/English blends: Seattle Pipe Club Mississippi River, McClelland Frogmorton, Northwoods (made by my local B&M - JM Boswell's). Taste is smoky, room note is "campfire" so say the guys at my club. I don't smoke straight latakia because it's far too strong for my taste. Straight Virginia: Cornell & Diehl Opening Night, Sam Gawith Full Virginia Flake. Taste is smooth, rich tobacco. Room note is mild. Can bite your tongue if you don't sip it slow. VaPer: Escudo, Esoterica Dunbar, McConnell's Scottish Cake. Taste like Virginia but peppery from the perique tobacco. Room note also mild. Best advice I can give yo