Home Cigar 101

seasoning

gmcgmc Posts: 21
what should the hygrometer read after proper seasoning!

Comments

• smokey64smokey64 Posts: 6
    im no expert (yet) but rh depends on various factors ,how often the humi is open, the type of media is used, temp, from what Ive read and been told 65 to 70 is best and its your choice. i try to keep my rh at 65 but that's just me
  • RainRain Posts: 8,958 ✭✭✭
    Your preference, anywhere to from 60 to 70 is fine.If you search, you'll see that people have different opinions.
  • LiquidChaos66LiquidChaos66 Posts: 3,767 ✭✭✭✭
    Mine hovers around 68-70. My humidity jar is set for a constant 70. When it gets cooler it lowers a bit.
    Life is like a blind fiver. You never know what you're gonna get.
  • gmcgmc Posts: 21
    thks Ive had some gars come apart after lighting so I reseasoned it it was at 72-3 now its at 70 maybe that was the prob. Im new at this and I have some pricey gars I dont want to loose.
    For me, 70 is too high. Some people think that will give you burn problems.
    Ya I just have a humidifier u add gar juice to. My humidor is a glass top 50 stick w/48-9 sticks. Im just getting a good start, Iv smoked gars before but a friend just recently put me onto this site which has been awesome much to the dismay of my wife, who will get over it soon.
  • RhamlinRhamlin Posts: 8,908 ✭✭✭✭✭
    You've come to the right place. If your humi was already 72-73% reseasoning won't do anything, you may need to take your humidifier out until it drops back down to your desired level. If you got any cedar cigar boxes you can break them up and put pieces in it to absorb some of the humidity. What kind of humidifier do you have? If it's what came with the humi you'll want to get that swapped out they don't regulate humidity very well and will mold up eventually.
  • RhamlinRhamlin Posts: 8,908 ✭✭✭✭✭
    For 50 count one boveda pack or a large bead puck or some kitty litter will work just dandy.